Jump to content

Imagery of Americana


Nebraska State Flag

Nebraska Images



Welcome to the state of Nebraska!

We hope to present quality information and a collaborative environment that will help you discover your family history and ancestors. Whether you wish to help with this state, one of its counties, or with another part of our history, please join us.

While you are here I hope you will consider becoming a county mentor or even just provide some of your family historical information to this site. Please consider it. Participation isn't hard and I am willing to help you in any way I can. What is most important, is that you want to help others by putting historical and genealogical information on the web. I am sure that you have something valuable to offer. Your family research, biographies, histories, pictures or other information would be so helpful to others. Please let me know if you have any questions, or if would like to help in any way. If you don't want to sponsor a county, maybe you have some information you would like to share, that is a great thing too. Please contact me so we can find the right way for you to participate. We would love to have you join our team. Send a message by going to the About Us page and submitting a note concerning your interest. Please be sure to describe what you are interested in.

The entire site is open for reading; however, I hope you will consider becoming a Member.

Visit our Nebraska Discussion Forums for more information.

Nebraska Counties

County Date County Formation County Seat Mentor Forum?
Adams 1867 unorganized Hastings    
Antelope 1871 unorganized Neligh    
Arthur 1887 unorganized Arthur    
Banner 1888 from Cheyenne County Harrisburg    
Blaine 1885 unorganized Brewster    
Boone 1871 unorganized Albion   Active
Box Butte 1887 from Dawes County Alliance    
Boyd 1891 unorganized and from Holt County Butte    
Brown 1883 unorganized Ainsworth    
Buffalo 1855 unorganized Kearney    
Burt 1854 Original Tekamah   Active
Butler 1856 from Greene David City    
Cass 1854 original Plattsmouth    
Cedar 1857 from Dixon and Pierce Counties Hartington    
Chase 1873 unorganized Imperial    
Cherry 1883 unorganized Valentine    
Cheyenne 1867 unorganized Sidney   Active
Clay 1855 unorganized Clay Center    
Colfax 1869 from Platte County Schuyler    
Cuming 1855 from Burt County West Point    
Custer 1877 unorganized Broken Bow   Active
Dakota 1855 from Burt County Dakota City    
Dawes 1885 from Sioux County Chadron    
Dawson 1860 unorganized Lexington    
Deuel 1888 from Cheyenne County Chappell   Active
Dixon 1856 from unorganized, Blackbird and Izard Counties Ponca    
Dodge 1854 original Fremont    
Douglas 1854 original Omaha   Active
Dundy 1873 unorganized Benkelman    
Fillmore 1856 unorganized and Jackson County Geneva    
Franklin 1867 from Kearney County Franklin    
Frontier 1872 unorganized Stockville    
Furnas 1873 unorganized Beaver City    
Gage 1855 unorganized Beatrice    
Garden 1910 from Deuel County Oshkosh    
Garfield 1884 from Wheeler County Burwell    
Gosper 1873 unorganized Elwood    
Grant 1887 unorganized Hyannis    
Greeley 1871 unorganized Greeley    
Hall 1858 unorganized Grand Island Ronald Nielson Active
Hamilton 1867 unorganized Aurora   Active
Harlan 1871 from Kearney County Alma    
Hayes 1877 unorganized Hayes Center    
Hitchcock 1873 unorganized Trenton    
Holt 1860 unorganized O'Neill    
Hooker 1889 unorganized Mullen    
Howard 1871 from Hall County Saint Paul   Active
Jefferson 1856 unorganized Fairbury    
Johnson 1857 from Nemaha and Otoe Counties Tecumseh    
Kearney 1860 unorganized Minden    
Keith 1873 unorganized Ogallala    
Keya Paha 1884 unorganized and Brown County Springview    
Kimball 1888 from Cheyenne County Kimball   Active
Knox 1857 unorganized and Pierce County Center    
Lancaster 1855 from Cass and Pierce Counties Lincoln   Active
Lincoln 1860 unorganized North Platte    
Logan 1885 unorganized Stapleton    
Loup 1883 unorganized Taylor    
Madison 1856 unorganized, Loop and McNeale Counties Madison    
McPherson 1887 unorganized Tryon    
Merrick 1858 unorganized and Polk County Central City    
Morrill 1908 from Cheyenne County Bridgeport    
Nance 1879 from Pawnee Reservation Fullerton    
Nehama 1854 Original Auburn    
Nuckolls 1860 unorganized Nelson    
Otoe 1854 original Nebraska City    
Pawnee 1855 from Richardson County Pawnee City    
Perkins 1887 from Keith County Grant    
Phelps 1873 from Kearney County Holdrege    
Pierce 1856 funorganized, Izard and McNeale Counties Pierce    
Platte 1856 from Greene and Loup Counties Columbus    
Polk 1856 unorganized and York County Osceola    
Red Willow 1873 unorganized McCook    
Richardson 1854 original Falls City    
Rock 1885 from Brown County Bassett    
Saline 1867 unorganized Wilber    
Sarpy 1857 from Cass and Douglass Counties Papillion    
Saunders 1856 from Douglass and Calhoun Counties Wahoo    
Scotts Bluff 1888 from Cheyenne County Gering    
Seward 1855 from Cass and Pierce Counties Seward    
Sheridan 1885 from Sioux County Rushville    
Sherman 1871 unorganized and Buffalo County Loup City Ronald Nielson Active
Sioux 1877 unorganized Harrison    
Stanton 1855 from Burt County Stanton    
Thayer 1871 from Jefferson County Hebron    
Thomas 1887 unorganized Thedford    
Thurston 1889 from Blackbird and Omaha Counties Pender    
Valley 1871 unorganized Ord    
Washington 1854 original Blair    
Wayne 1867 unorganized Wayne    
Webster 1867 unorganized Red Cloud    
Wheeler 1877 unorganized Bartlett    
York 1855 from Cass and Pierce Counties York