A grist mill has been working in the little village of Wye Mills since the late 1600s. Richard Sweatman operated a saw mill and two grist mills in 1706, and the village then became known as Wye Mills. Today, only one grist mill remains standing and continues to operate as a living museum. The mill dates back to circa 1681. Restoration of the mill was completed in 1990 under the direction of Preservation Maryland and a lot of hard work and effort of local residents.
The Wye Oak, Maryland's State Tree, reigns supreme at 450 years old with its own twenty-acre park. The Wye Church, circa 1721, has been restored and is one of the oldest Episcopal churches in America. The church features high box pews, a hanging pulpit and original silver communion pieces. Wye Mills evolved from a mill town that supplied Washington's troops at Valley Forge with ground wheat during the American Revolution to a community with historic gems worth seeing.