Jump to content

The table below lists the Constituent Departments and their respective Prefecture. This is a good starting place when preparing for research about ancestors. Though maps change over time and rulers as well, records of specific localities may still be found in the current Department archives. Sometimes there are even challenges finding the right alignment of a record to the archive based upon the date the historical record was created. Please refer to the sitewide collaboration link above to share information or ask questions.

Flag Department Prefecture Notes
Ain Bourg-en-Bresse 
Aisne Laon   
Allier Moulins   
Alpes-de-Haute-Provence Digne-les-Bains   
Hautes-Alpes Gap 
Alpes-Maritimes Nice   
Ardèche Privas   
Ardennes Charleville-Mézières   
Ariège Foix 
Aube Troyes   
Aude Carcassonne   
Aveyron Rodez   
  • Create New...