Jump to content

The table below lists the Districts of the State of Bremen. This is a good starting place when focusing on gathering information and preparing for research about German ancestors. Though maps change over time and rulers as well, records of specific localities may still be found in the current State archives. Sometimes there are even challenges finding the right alignment of a record to the archive based upon the date the historical record was created. If the Districts are highlighted, they contain a link to subsequent focused information. If they are not highlighted, information has not been developed for that District, but may soon be presented as time permits. Please refer to the forum collaboration link above to share information or ask questions.

As a Hanseatic city, Bremen has a slightly varied structure when considering districts or urban areas. We hope to at least use a similar format.

District Administrative Districts Notes
Mitte (Central)  
Süd (South)  
Ost (East)  
Nord (North)  

Urban District Associated Villages Notes
(M) Häfen  
(M) Mitte  
(S) Huchting  
(S) Neustadt  
(S) Obervieland  
(S) Seehausen  
(S) Strom  
(S) Woltmerhausen  
(O) Borgfeld  
(O) Hemelingen  
(O) Horn-Lehe  
(O) Oberneuland  
(O) Osterholz  
(O) Östliche Vorstadt  
(O) Schwachhausen  
(O) Vahr  
(W) Blockland  
(W) Findorff  
(W) Gröpelingen  
(W) Walle  
(N) Blumenthal  
(N) Burglesum  
(N) Vegesack  
  • Create New...